Seriously, before I can even tell you about the baby, I need to talk about how epidurals are the most amazing thing in the entire world. I want one every day. I want to give them to all my friends for Christmas. I want to find a way to sell them on the streets like crack because I would be a millionaire in a week. I LOVE YOU EPIDURAL.

Evan Richard Davis III was born at 7:21 pm on April 5th, 2009. He is 7 lbs 12 oz and 20.5 inches long. His apgar scores (a sort of useless measure of how active and pink your baby is, mostly used as a way for parents to claim their newborn is superior to yours) were 8 and 9. He didn’t cry right away but is getting pretty good at it now, although he hasn’t really committed to screaming his head off for any length of time. He had a little trouble warming up so the nurses have been watching his blood sugar but the pediatrician says he’s fine now. E is excelling at both baby holding and diaper changing.

My full labor and delivery story (complete with gross details and sound effects) to follow, but for now know that it was actually shamefully easy. If I had known it was going to be like that I would have spent a lot less time worrying about it and a lot more time on something worthwhile – like thinking up ways to sell epidurals to drug addicts.

img_1889

img_1896

img_1891

