No baby today. No baby tomorrow. Probably no baby this week. All these stupid Braxton-Hicks contractions have done absolutely nothing to get labor started. I’m not dilated or effaced. My doctor said if there’s still no progress at my next appointment we can start talking about induction. As tired as I am of being pregnant, I really really really don’t want to resort to medical intervention before I’m even in labor. The rates of c-section go up dramatically with induction and I’ve heard Pitocin induced contractions hurt even more than regular contractions. The longest my OB will let me go is a week past my due date so I’ve got until the 7th to find a self-induction method that actually works.

The good news is tomorrow I am going to NYC to see Heather Armstrong a.k.a. Dooce, visit my awesome friend Sara and check out the children’s floor at The Strand. E thinks I am totally, completely insane and is convinced I’m going to go into labor on the Amtrak. I figure it’s only a 2 1/2 hour train ride so even if my water breaks I’ve got plenty of time to make it to my hospital. This is probably my last chance to go anywhere by myself for the next 5 10 18+ years so I am taking advantage of having a bebeh that is still in his easiest and most portable state. A car seat is just not as easy to carry as a belly.

